keywords: ip pbx voip gateway gsm gateway

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.
× Questions about B100/200/400/800 ISDN BRI Cards

Connecting an ISDN telephone

16 years 3 months ago #624 by rcashell
Hi,

I am newbie to the world of ISDN. I have some experience with SIP. I am attempting to connecting an ISDN phone to a B400P card. The mISDN version is 1.1.7 and Asterisk is 1.4.16.

Your document excellently describes the steps to follow to install and configure the card. The phone itself is connected to the card port 1 and is powered from the card. This is working fine. The 4 ports on the back of the card are all flashing red. They all remain flashing red even after the phone is connected.

I have noticed that in Asterisk the port status is DOWN. I have tried many variations and the only way to get the port status to remain up is to configure the mISDN.conf and include in the port section 'capi="yes"'. Without this they will always remain down.

I have enabled debugging on Asterisk and when I disconnect the phone it recognises this but when I attempt to dial a phone number nothing happens and nothing gets displayed in the log file.

Can anyone help me with this?
16 years 3 months ago #625 by james.zhu
hello, rcashell:
have you check the jumper for NT mode and power supply on the card? mISDN has a tool for debugging, you can try that.
Regards!
James.zhu

16 years 3 months ago #626 by rcashell
Hi James,

thank you for the tip. I have a quick question about my possible configuration. If I am connecting a phone directly into the openvox card do I need a cross over cable for this or is a regular RJ45 sufficient?

I tried the ISDN debug tool but it is not giving any output so I can only guess that the problem is somewhere with my hardware setup.
16 years 3 months ago #627 by rcashell
Hi James,